Matthew Helgeson Bio

Dr. Matthew Helgeson is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Chemical Engineering at UCSB. He earned his B.S. in Chemical Engineering from Carnegie Mellon University and moved to the University of Delaware for a Ph.D. in Chemical Engineering. He worked as a postdoctoral associate in the Novartis Center for Continuous Manufacturing at MIT before joining the UCSB community in 2012. Dr. Helgeson’s research focuses on developing new processes that leverage fluid mechanics and molecular self-assembly to create complex fluids, colloids and particles with well-defined structure, including optical and scattering-based methods for monitoring fluid structure in situ during these processes. His group’s current interests are aimed at harnessing the nanoscale behavior of polymer-colloid mixtures to design multi-functional particulates and gels for nanomaterial synthesis, biotechnology and energy conversion. Dr. Helgeson has been the recipient of many awards including the National Science Foundation CAREER Award and the Inaugural Distinguished Young Rheologist Award from TA Instruments.

Research Areas: Structural characterization – optical/electron microscopy, scattering; rheology, microrheology, and non-Newtonian fluid mechanics; microfluidic flows and processing; colloidal synthesis and functionalization; coarse-grained modeling and simulations

Available Technologies Developed by Professor Helgeson:


  • 2016  Unilever Award, American Chemical Society
  • 2016  Hellman Foundation Faculty Fellowship
  • 2015  Early Career Award, Department of Energy
  • 2015  Excellence in Teaching Award, Northrop Grumman
  • 2014  Early Career Award, National Science Foundation
  • 2012  Distinguished Young Rheologist Award, TA Instruments
  • 2011  Victor K. LaMer Award, American Chemical Society
  • 2009  National Research Council Postdoctoral Fellowship
  • 2009  McCullough Award, Delaware Center for Composite Materials
  • 2009  Graduate Teaching Fellowship, University of Delaware
  • 2008  Neutron Scattering Society of America Student Prize
  • 2008  First Prize, SoftMatt Research Conference
  • 2008  Progress Award, Delaware Center for Composite Materials
  • 2007  University Graduate Fellows Award, University of Delaware
  • 2007  Excellence in Graduate Polymer Research, ACS POLY
  • 2004  Robert L. Pigford Fellowship, University of Delaware
  • 2004  McCabe Society, Carnegie Mellon University
  • 2003  Tau Beta Pi, Pennsylvania Gamma Chapter

For more information on Professor Helgeson’s accomplishments and research click here