Glenn Fredrickson Bio

Glenn Fredrickson SmallGlenn Fredrickson obtained his Ph.D. at Stanford University in 1984 and subsequently joined AT&T Bell Laboratories, where he was named Distinguished Member of the Technical Staff in 1989. In 1990 he moved to the University of California at Santa Barbara, joining the faculties of the Chemical Engineering and Materials Departments. He served as Chair of Chemical Engineering from 1998-2001 and is currently the Director of the Mitsubishi Chemical Center for Advanced Materials (MC-CAM) and the Director of the Complex Fluids Design Consortium (CFDC). Since 2009, he has also served as Executive Director of The KAITEKI Institute, a strategic unit of Mitsubishi Chemical Holdings Corporation. Professor Fredrickson has a long-standing interest in the statistical mechanics of complex fluids, including polymers, colloids, and glasses. His work is primarily theoretical and computational and has been most recently focused on field-based computer simulation strategies for anticipating the bulk and interfacial self-assembly of multi-component polymers. Honors include a Sloan Fellowship, the Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Award, the Dillon Medal and Polymer Physics Prize of the American Physical Society, the Alpha Chi Sigma Award of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers, Fellowship in the American Academy of Arts & Sciences, and election to the National Academy of Engineering.

Research Areas: Professor Fredrickson’s research involves the theoretical analysis of complex fluids and polymers including suspensions, polymer solutions, and melts, and especially block and graft copolymers. A major effort involves the development of new computer simulation tools for analyzing statistical field theory models of polymers and complex fluids — “field theoretic simulations” — and the application of such tools to the design of improved complex fluid formulations and high performance plastic materials.

Available Technologies Developed by Professor Fredrickson:


  • 2013 Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science
  • 2011 Fellow, American Academy of Arts & Sciences
  • 2010 Collaboration Success Award, Council for Chemical Research
  • 2009 Outstanding Referee, American Physical Society
  • 2009 Fellow of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers
  • 2009 Texas Distinguished Faculty Lecturer, Chem. Engr., U. Texas, Austin
  • 2008 Richard S.H. Math Lectures, Northwestern University
  • 2008 Cooperative Research Award in Polymer Science and Engineering, PMSE Division, American Chemical Society
  • 2007 Polymer Physics Prize, American Physical Society
  • 2005 Warren L. McCabe Lecturer, Chem. Engr., NC State University
  • 2005 Aggarwal Lectures in Polymer Science, Cornell University
  • 2003 Election to the National Academy of Engineering
  • 2001 G.Stafford Whitby Lecturer, Polymer Sci., University of Akron
  • 2000 Creativity Extension, Materials Theory Program, NSF
  • 1999 Distinguished Alumni Award, Chem. Engr.,University of Florida
  • 1999 Alpha Chi Sigma Award, American Institute of Chemical Engineers
  • 1998 Fellow of the American Physical Society
  • 1994 professor Joliot Curie, City of Paris, France
  • 1993 Visiting Miller Research Professor, UC Berkeley
  • 1992 Piercy Distinguished Professor, University of Minnesota
  • 1992 John H. Dillon Medal, American Physical Society
  • 1992 Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellow
  • 1991 Allan P. Colburn Lecturer, University of Delaware
  • 1991 Camille and Henry Dreyfus Teacher – Scholar Award
  • 1990 Presidential Young Investigator, National Science Foundation
  • 1989 Distinguished Technical Staff Award, AT&T Labs

For more information on Professor Fredrickson’s accomplishments and research click here