Rachel Segalman

rachel-segalman1Professor Rachel Segalman received a B.S. in Chemical Engineering from the University of Texas at Austin in 1998 and a Ph.D. in Chemical Engineering from UCSB in 2002. Her postdoctoral research in conjugated polymer synthesis and properties took place at the Université Louis Pasteur in Strasbourg, France in 2003. She joined the faculty of UC Berkeley and Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratories in 2004 and then moved back to UCSB as a professor of Chemical Engineering and Materials in 2014. Her research focuses on controlling self-assembly, structure, and properties in functional polymers. Her group is particularly interested in materials for energy applications such as photovoltaics, fuel cells, and thermoelectrics.


Research Areas: 

Segalman’s research group works to both understand the effects of structure on properties and gain pattern control in these inherently multidimensional problems. We are particularly interested in materials for energy applications such as photovoltaics, fuel cells, and thermoelectrics.

Available Technologies Developed by Professor Segalman:


  • 2016 Elected Fellow of the American Physical Society

  • 2016 Elected Senior Member of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers

  • 2015 Journal of Polymer Science Innovation Award

  • 2015 Centennial Lecture, University of Texas at Austin 2013 Invited Speaker on Energy Technologies, National Academies of Engineering: Frontiers of Engineering Symposium

  • 2012 John H. Dillon Medal of the American Physical Society

  • 2012 Vaughn Lectureship at CalTech

  • 2011 Thiele Lectureship at Notre Dame

  • 2010 Camille Dreyfus Teacher Scholar

  • 2009 Hendrick C. Van Ness Lectureship, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

  • 2009 Alfred P. Sloan Fellow

  • 2008 Presidential Early Career Award in Science and Engineering (PECASE)

  • 2008 Lawrence Berkeley National Lab, Materials Science Division’s Young Scientist of the Year Award

  • 2007 Mohr-Davidow Ventures Innovators Award

  • 2007 MIT Technology Review’s Top 35 Innovators under 35 years old (TR35)

  • 2006-2008 3M Untenured Faculty Award

  • 2007 Hellman Family Young Faculty Award

  • 2005 National Science Foundation CAREER Award

  • 2004 Intel Young Faculty Award

  • 2003 Chateaubriand Fellowship

  • 2001 Corning Foundation Fellowship

  • 2001 MRS Graduation Student Award Finalist

  • 1998 National Science Foundation Fellowship

For more information on Professor Segalman’s accomplishments and research click here

Close Menu