About TIA

The primary mission of UCSB’s Office of Technology & Industry Alliances (TIA) is to build the foundation for long-term, productive and mutually beneficial relationships between UCSB and its industry collaborators.

TIA was established in August 2005 with two main responsibilities: to manage the intellectual property developed through UCSB research (including out-licensing) and to manage the many agreements with industry partners that support research collaborations (including research agreements, material transfer agreements, non-disclosure agreements and memorandums of understanding).

TIA was one of the first university technology transfer offices to have full delegation of authority to negotiate and execute both licensing and research agreements. Our ability to negotiate both licensing and research agreements eliminates the need for our corporate partners to progress through multiple university offices and gives TIA the opportunity to build an in-depth understanding of the needs of our industry partners. It also allows TIA to simultaneously negotiate licensing and research agreements, when appropriate.

Send us a message

Find us at the office

342 Lagoon Road, Mail Code 2055 Santa Barbara, CA
93106-2055

Metered parking is available in Lot 6, located on the left-hand side of Lagoon Road. Guest parking permit is only valid in the Coast Access parking spaces.

Give us a ring

(805) 893-5196
Monday - Friday
9:00 am - 5:00 pm

TIA Staff

Photo Shape Editor: https://www.tuxpi.com/photo-effects/shape-tool

Sherylle Mills Englander

Director
805-893-5180
englander@tia.ucsb.edu

cutmypic (2)

Kevin Stewart

Associate Director, Industry Contracts
805-893-5197
stewart@tia.ucsb.edu

cutmypic (3)

Cara Winnewisser

Industry Contracts Officer
805-893-2396
winnewisser@tia.ucsb.edu

Photo Shape Editor: https://www.tuxpi.com/photo-effects/shape-tool

Mary Raven

Senior Licensing Officer
805-893-5209
raven@tia.ucsb.edu

cutmypic (4)

Robert Takara

Manager, Patent Strategy & Licensing Operations
805-893-5138
takara@tia.ucsb.edu

Untitled-1

Dorin Willey

Licensing Analyst
805-893-5150
willey@tia.ucsb.edu

JN2

Jenna Nakano

MTA / NDA Officer
805-893-2367
nakano@tia.ucsb.edu

Alexander Padilla

Marketing Manager
805-893-2073
padilla@tia.ucsb.edu

CN2

Cyna Naea

Office Manager
805-893-5196
naea@tia.ucsb.edu

cutmypic (8)

Chris Lauw

Systems Administrator
805-893-5704
lauw @ research.ucsb.edu

Close Menu